Comparing OpenTable, SevenRooms, ResDiary and Tiquo for UK restaurants
OpenTable, SevenRooms and ResDiary are built around reservations and guest management, and each connects to a separate POS through integrations. Tiquo includes reservations alongside its own POS, payments, memberships and CRM on one platform. For a UK restaurant comparing them, three questions usually settle it: how many of your covers come from a diner network, how you want to pay for bookings, and whether you want reservations in a different system from the till.
The details below come from each provider's website at the start of October 2026. Plans and terms change, so confirm them in a demo before you sign.
What does OpenTable offer UK restaurants?
OpenTable's UK plans page lists two plans, Core and Pro, and doesn't publish plan prices; restaurants are asked to contact OpenTable. Features listed across the plans include an OpenTable profile and listing, a customisable booking widget, Google's Reserve a table button, experiences and ticketing, deposits and credit card holds, customisable floor plans, in-house and online waitlists, POS integration, guest profiles and automated email campaigns. Pro adds more relationship management and guest data tools.
Cover fees are the part to model. On Core and Pro, OpenTable says it charges cover fees only for diners who discover the restaurant through its website, app or affiliate network. Bookings made through the restaurant's own website or by phone carry no cover fee, and it doesn't charge for no-shows or cancellations. The standard contract is one year and renews automatically unless you give notice 30 days before the renewal date.
What does SevenRooms offer?
SevenRooms, which describes itself as a DoorDash company, sells three packages, Starter, Growth and Premium, each priced by quote. Starter includes CRM and guest profiles, branded reservations and waitlist, table management, reputation management and basic marketing automations, plus access to DoorDash and Deliveroo reservation marketplace users with no cover fees. Growth adds ticketed events, a multi-venue reservation widget and more advanced tagging and marketing automations, and Premium adds custom automations and AI tools. Email marketing, event management, text and WhatsApp marketing, Voice AI, API and integrations, and a group portal are listed as add-ons.
On cost, SevenRooms says it charges a monthly subscription and a one-time setup fee, takes a transaction fee on pre-sales made through its booking widgets, and doesn't charge reservation fees or online order commissions. Its FAQ says it has over 100 integrations, including POS systems such as Toast and Micros Simphony.
What does ResDiary offer?
ResDiary sells its current system as ResDiary Evo. Its main UK pricing page invites venues to fill in a form for a quote, while a GBP price page on its site lists four Evo packages by monthly booking volume, from £109 a month for up to 150 bookings to £295 a month for unlimited bookings, plus VAT and a £99 set-up fee. ResDiary says bookings are commission-free wherever they are made, including your website, social media, Reserve with Google and DesignMyNight, a UK listings site that ResDiary connects to.
Features ResDiary lists for Evo include a customisable booking widget, AI-based no-show risk prediction, smart customer tagging, queue management with SMS updates and pre-orders for larger bookings. Add-ons are priced by the month, among them gift vouchers, Event Manager, SMS, and integrations with POS, PMS and CRM systems. A surcharge applies to deposits and payments processed through ResDiary, and Stripe fees may apply.
How is Tiquo different?
Tiquo includes reservations, waitlists, live floor plans and no-show card guarantees in Simple Mode booking flows, and runs them on the same platform as its POS, kitchen display, Stripe-based payments, inventory, memberships, CRM, marketing automations and reporting. The booking, the orders placed during the visit and the payment sit on one customer record, so you don't need a POS integration to see what a guest spent.
Tiquo publishes its Starter, Launch and Scale prices on its pricing page, charged per sublocation per month, with card rates from 1.7% + £0.22 on Launch and from 1.2% + £0.18 on Scale; Enterprise pricing is custom. Its pricing FAQ says any per-booking or setup charge applies only if explicitly agreed, and the Launch and Scale plans are month-to-month.
Tiquo's product pages don't describe a diner discovery network. Bookings come through your own channels: Tiquo booking flows on your website, the customer portal or a site built with its Website SDK. Restaurants that rely on a marketplace for a large share of covers should weigh that before switching.
How do OpenTable, SevenRooms, ResDiary and Tiquo compare?
| OpenTable | SevenRooms | ResDiary | Tiquo | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main focus | Reservations, table management and a diner network | Reservations, guest CRM and marketing | Reservations and table management | POS, bookings, payments, memberships and CRM on one platform |
| Published UK pricing | No plan prices, contact sales | No, packages by quote | Evo packages from £109 a month plus VAT; add-ons priced monthly | Yes for Starter, Launch and Scale; Enterprise is custom |
| Booking fees | Cover fees for diners from OpenTable's network on Core and Pro | No reservation fees; transaction fee on pre-sales through its widgets | Commission-free bookings; surcharge on deposits and payments | Per-booking charges only if explicitly agreed |
| Diner discovery | OpenTable listing and network | DoorDash and Deliveroo reservation marketplace access | Reserve with Google and DesignMyNight | No diner network; bookings through your own website, booking flows and customer portal |
| POS | POS integration | Integrations, including Toast and Micros Simphony | POS integration add-on | Built-in POS on supported devices |
| Deposits and payments | Deposits and credit card holds | Pre-sales through booking widgets | Deposits, payments and pre-orders | Deposits, card guarantees, terminal payments and Tap to Pay on supported iPhones, all on Stripe |
| Events and private dining | Experiences, ticketing and a private dining product | Ticketed events on Growth; event management add-on | Event Manager add-on | Event ticketing, enquiry pipelines and private hire bookings |
| Contract | One year, renews automatically | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated; prices paid in advance monthly, or annually if chosen, with a £99 set-up fee | Launch and Scale are month-to-month |
Which should a UK restaurant choose?
Start with your own booking sources. If a meaningful share of covers comes from a diner network, OpenTable's network or SevenRooms' marketplace access may earn their place, and the cover fees or package cost are what you pay for that demand. Pull a few months of bookings by source (network, website, phone and walk-in) before deciding, because that split decides how much each fee model costs you. Our earlier pieces on OpenTable alternatives and SevenRooms alternatives go into those trade-offs.
If you want a reservation specialist with commission-free bookings and published package and add-on prices, ResDiary is set up for that, with POS and marketing tools connected through integrations.
If you would rather run reservations, the till, payments, memberships and guest data in one system, Tiquo is designed for that. It suits restaurants that also sell events, memberships or retail, and groups that want one customer record across venues. Whichever you shortlist, ask for a demo using your own floor plan, a busy Friday's bookings and your current cost per cover.
Najnowsze artykuły
WebMCP explained: how AI agents can book through hospitality websites
What WebMCP is, how websites register tools that AI agents in the browser can call, where the standard and Chrome support stand in October 2026, and what it means for booking pages.
How to sell spa treatments and dining to hotel guests before they arrive
Pre-arrival upselling for hotels: when to send spa and dining offers, what to offer which guests, how to make offers bookable, and the UK consent rules for promotional messages.
How to split bills and move tabs between tables
How to split bills by item, seat, equal share or amount, and how to move a tab or selected items to another table without sending food to the kitchen twice or charging twice.